Industry internships?

• Thread starter tomtheemu
  • Start date
Hi all,

I'm a junior undergrad majoring in chemical physics, and starting to think about plans for next summer. My assumption for a while has been that I'll stay at school and do research towards my thesis, but lately I've been considering other options. My school doesn't require a thesis, and I could also try to make a lot of progress this spring so that I wouldn't be too poorly positioned next fall even without working over the summer.

The reason I'm hesitant is because I've spent the past 2 summers doing university research (isotope geochemistry at my school and then experimental pchem on an REU), and I think it'd be fun and educational to branch out and spend some time outside academia before I graduate. My request, then, is for any recommendations that you all might have for where to look for opportunities in industry this summer that would be relevant for someone with my background. I'm primarily thinking about original research, but I'm also definitely open to more engineer-y options, assuming they'd be interested in someone with a pure science background.

-Tom

Answers and Replies

I don't have any specific ideas for you. But I'd recommend it, I did an internship in industry last summer and it was a great experience. And the pay was triple what I got the previous summer working in a professors lab.

I don't have any specific ideas for you. But I'd recommend it, I did an internship in industry last summer and it was a great experience. And the pay was triple what I got the previous summer working in a professors lab.
Yeah, the money is definitely a factor as well - there's funding for me to stay at school but it's basically living expenses. Being able to pay down some of my debt after the summer is definitely a motivation.