Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Infinite Solutions to e^x = c?

1. Nov 27, 2011 #1
    Hello,

I have some background in complex analysis (a very minimal amount) but I did come up with a rather odd question.

Given a polynomial a + bx + cx^2 + dx^3... nx^n

There exists n or fewer solutions to the equation that each have a multiplicity of 1 to n.

Given that information suppose we take the exponential function e^x and break it down to its taylor series:

1 + x/1! + x^2/2! + x^3/3! + x^4/4!...

Doesn't that mean that there are infinite roots to the exponential function which may be equal to some type of infinity (or not)

The exponential-infinite roots of unity?

If they are positioned @ infinities then are there more "projective-like" relationships between them that allows you to differentiate between the roots of say e^x and 2^x?

2. jcsd
  3. Nov 27, 2011 #2
    polynomials are defined for for finite orders of n and so those theorems are not valid for infinite series.

4. Nov 27, 2011 #3
    Does that mean that theorems attached to them do not extend or generalize to infinite orders of n?

Example: The solution to the equation x3 + 1 = 0

We arrange it to:

x3 = -1

so x = [itex]\sqrt[3]{-1}[/itex] = -1 , [itex]\frac{1 - i\sqrt{3}}{2}[/itex], [itex]\frac{1 + i\sqrt{3}}{2}[/itex]

The negatives of the three roots of unity...

Generalizing this to nx3 + 1 = 0 as n [itex]\rightarrow[/itex] [itex]\infty[/itex] we know that the absolute value of the three roots of the equation approach zero but we do know that no matter the projective geometric properties of the roots (such as the angles between them) do not change...