Infinite Square Well Width

• Thread starter Miquelyn10
  • Start date

Main Question or Discussion Point

I am new to quantum mechanics so I am just trying to get an understanding of the infinite square well. I have been reading a lot of material and I see a lot of times that the barriers of the well say -L/2 and L/2. I know that outside the well to the left is -infinity and to the right is infinity. Does the left barrier always have to be zero? The examples I am finding all have it that when. Can you just arbitrarily pick the width of the well? Also, the result you get from the well is the probably the particle is going to be in that spot inside the well, correct? Does that mean if I have my barriers at 1 and 2 the result will be the probably that it will be between 1 and 2 or will it actually give me where between one and two it is going to be? Thanks for all your help in advance!

Answers and Replies

G01
Homework Helper
Gold Member
I'm having a hard time following what your actual questions are but I'll give it a go. I'll try to paraphrase your questions above my answers (in bold). If I do not have your question correct, please tell me.

1. Some books have the well spanning from -L/2 to L/2, others from 0 to L. Does it matter?

In short no. In both cases, the width of the well is the same. It is L. The wave functions you get out of the Schrodinger equation will look slightly different (i.e. the phase will be shifted) because the boundary conditions are different, but physically, it's the same problem modeled in two different coordinate systems, so all observables you measure will be the same.

2. What does the result of solving the Shrodinger Equation tell you?

By solving the Sch.E.Q., you get the wavefunction, which contains all the information available about the system.

If you multiple the wave function by its complex conjugate, you will get a probability density.