Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Infinitely old earth?

1. Sep 8, 2010 #1
    Hi guys! It's my first time posting here. I have great interests in physics and im only a cambridge "A" level physics student (the physics here is really nonsense =.=) Ok I will start on my post. The big bang theory states that time 'began' 10-15 billion years ago. I am not sure how to put my thinking across to you guys, but I will try to explain how i think here... The possible beginning of time happened years ago. Since time is relative, am I safe to say it happened somewhere between zero to 100000000000000000000000000000000billion years ago? Or did time start infinitely long ago? Or time did not start (it didnt stop in the first place). Putting in layman's term, If a million years may seem short to the formation of a planet, is 1000000000000000000000000billion years nothing compared to the beginning of time? This is my first time telling anyone about this thought. Sorry if it seems noob =[

PS: I really suck at putting out my thought, and my understanding of relativity(I never learnt that in school =[ ) but I hope u guys can understand my 'weird' thinking.
    Thanks! :D

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 8, 2010 #2
    Oh no... I wrote the title wrongly. It is supposed to be "Infinitely old universe". Sorry for the mistake! :D

4. Sep 8, 2010 #3

Vanadium 50

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Education Advisor
    2017 Award

How do we know that Christmas happened 8-1/2 months ago? Since time is relative, why din't we say it happened a billion years ago or five minutes ago?

5. Sep 8, 2010 #4
    we had a calander last christmas. did we have one when time began

6. Sep 8, 2010 #5