Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Integral of e^-mod(x^n)

1. Oct 29, 2009 #1
    OK, this is going back to a problem I studied back in Calculus class; it's been a few years since I graduated, so bear with me please... :)

It's easy to integrate [tex]\int^{\infty}_{-\infty}\\e^{-mod(x)}\\dx[/tex] (giving a value of 2), and with a bit of grunt-work, the same can be done for [tex]\int^{\infty}_{-\infty}\\e^{-mod(x^2)}\\dx[/tex] (giving the value of [tex]\sqrt{\pi}[/tex]). But I was curious about [tex]\int\\e^{-mod(x^n)}[/tex] for values of n>2.
    Would it be considered valid to take the power series of the function and integrate it, then evaulate that at the end points?

For example, for the general case of x to an nth power... (oh heck...I tried to used the forum code but it got so tangled up...here's one I MSPainted earlier instead).

My question is, is this integration and evaluation valid? Have I integrated it properly? Does it count? (I never did check if the integrated power series converges). It certainly appears to work when I evaluated the partial sums of the series with x tending towards infinity, for the cases of m=1 and m=2, but is it legal?

Attached Files:

2. jcsd
  3. Oct 30, 2009 #2
    It would work for a finite sum, and I think it works for an infinite sum if the series converges (which it does for your conditions on n)... but I cannot give you an absolute answer, only that I think you are safe here.

You've switched m and n around from your introduction in the attachment!

4. Oct 30, 2009 #3
    Ah, it's good to know I haven't completely lost my touch at calculus then. :)

I did switch them? *looks* O bother! That's what I get for using a picture that I created quite some time ago...:tongue2:

5. Oct 30, 2009 #4

Gib Z

Homework Helper