1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Integration and work

1. Oct 30, 2004 #1
    hey guys i'm in first year university

ok these problems should seem really easy but our teacher hasn't done crap in the class so i have a problem gettin it
    if someone can help me these two i feel like i could do the rest by myself
    thanks alot

-------
    A reluctant 5-year old, whose mass is 26.2 kg, is pushed at constant speed into a washroom for a bath. His father pushes him 9.53 m along a level floor with a force directed 28.1° below the horizontal. If the co-efficient of kinetic friction between the floor and the child's socks is 0.186, how much work is done by his father in pushing him into the washroom?

How much energy was lost through the frictional force?

2. jcsd
  3. Oct 30, 2004 #2
    Consider the forces acting on the child and consider the sum of these forces if the child is moving at a constant speed. Recall that [tex]F_k = \mu_kF_n[/tex] where [tex]F_n[/tex] is the normal force from the surface of the level floor and [tex]\mu_k[/tex] is the coefficient of kinetic friction. Also recall that [tex]W = Fdcos(\theta)[/tex]

PS Welcome to PF!

Last edited by a moderator: Oct 30, 2004
  4. Oct 30, 2004 #3
    hey thanks alot
    i really appreciate it
    i'll go and try to do the problems now

vsage, u go to the univeristy of florida

GATORS rock baby
    lol bad loss today against the bulldogs

5. Oct 30, 2004 #4
    Yeah I was at the game. Go gators! It was painful though :(

6. Oct 30, 2004 #5
    man i dunno why i can't get it
    i know the force exerted by the father is the same as the force exerted by friction

so F= 9.81*26.2*.186=47.81N

so

w= 47.81 *(cos 118.1) *9.53 = -214.6 J

i also tried 214.6 J