1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Integration Problem

1. Oct 7, 2013 #1
    I know ∫(xe[itex]^{ax}[/itex]) dx = x (e[itex]^{ax}[/itex] / a) - (1/a) ∫e[itex]^{ax}[/itex] . 1 dx

= x (e[itex]^{ax}[/itex] / a) - (1/a) (e[itex]^{ax}[/itex] / a)

= (e[itex]^{ax}[/itex] / a) (x - 1/a)

i.e, integral of two functions = (first function) (integral of second function) - ∫(integral of second function) (differential of first function)

This is not a homework. I am a working professional and I need help in solving a problem.

The solution I need is for

(1/0.1) ∫20te[itex]^{-10t}[/itex] dt between limits 0 and 20 us. limits can be taken as 0 to t. I don't need numerical solution.

t = [itex]\tau[/itex]

dt = d[itex]\tau[/itex]

integral becomes

200 ∫[itex]\tau[/itex]e[itex]^{-10\tau}[/itex] d[itex]\tau[/itex] between limits 0 and t

it becomes 200 [ [itex]\tau[/itex] (e[itex]^{-10\tau}[/itex] / - 10) + (1/10) ∫e[itex]^{-10\tau} [/itex] . 1 d[itex]\tau[/itex]

= 200 [ [itex]\tau[/itex] (e[itex]^{-10\tau}[/itex] / - 10) + (1/10) (e[itex]^{-10\tau}[/itex] / - 10)]

= 200 [ [itex]\tau[/itex] (e[itex]^{-10\tau}[/itex] / - 10) - (1/100) e[itex]^{-10\tau}[/itex]]

I know I have to apply limits to the two e[itex]^{-10\tau}[/itex]

I want to know should I apply limits also to [itex]\tau[/itex] which is at the beginning of the solution (here... = 200 [ [itex]\tau[/itex] ...) ?

Last edited: Oct 7, 2013
  2. jcsd
  3. Oct 7, 2013 #2

CompuChip

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

So you have the indefinite integral
    $$\int \tau e^{-10 \tau} \, d\tau = - \tau e^{-10\tau} / 10 - e^{-10\tau} / 100 = -\frac{e^{-10\tau}}{10} \left( \tau - \frac{1}{10} \right)$$
    which looks correct to me (I've rewritten it slightly to look a bit better).