Intelligent Design question

• Thread starter skihobbes
  • Start date
Hey all--I am a high school physics teacher, A student asked me a question about the fact that DNA does not increase the amount of information in the strand--the information is just reshuffled. I have searched and I have read many people saying this is inaccurate but nobody gives any specific examples. Can anyone help me out with this argument?

Thanks in advance.

Answers and Replies

Depends on the strict definition of information.
There is no more information in the works of Shakespeare than there is an a random sequence of letters of the same length.
This, along with arguments about increasing complexity and the 2nd law of thermodynamics, are common attacks on evolution.

There is no more information in the works of Shakespeare than there is an a random sequence of letters of the same length.
This, along with arguments about increasing complexity and the 2nd law of thermodynamics, are common attacks on evolution.
Right. I think he means that an increase from say 10 to 12 bits of information. I think he is referring to quantity. I don't think he is concerned with the complexity of the information.

I have a physics degree so I handled the 2nd law of thermodynamics!

Evo
Mentor
Hey all--I am a high school physics teacher, A student asked me a question about the fact that DNA does not increase the amount of information in the strand--the information is just reshuffled. I have searched and I have read many people saying this is inaccurate but nobody gives any specific examples. Can anyone help me out with this argument?

Thanks in advance.
First, Intelligent Design is religion, it has no place in school, so I'm confused about the thread title.

A student asked me a question about the fact that DNA does not increase the amount of information in the strand--the information is just reshuffled.
What about his question has some point? What exactly are you asking?