Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Intensity vs Pixel number CCD

1. Sep 11, 2011 #1
    Hey Guys,

i'm a first year astrophysics student and i got given this question to answer in a practical report:

Examine the spectrum of the planetary nebula derived from the diffraction grating. You will produce a colour rendering of the spectrum together with a graphical representation of intensity versus pixel number.

The pixel number scale can be replaced by a wavelength scale. Given that some of the bright emission lines are due to excited hydrogen and oxygen gas, determine a conversion between pixel number and wavelength. (Draw a graph showing pixel number on the x-axis and wavelength on the y-axis. The graph should be linear).

now i have a pixel vs intensity graph which appears to have three sharp peaks. i'm not quite sure on what i'm supposed to go from here.

thanks for your responses :)

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 11, 2011 #2

cepheid

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Welcome to PF jaykob_hxc!