Does centering variables for regression always result in unchanged coefficients?

In summary, when centering variables for a regression analysis, the coefficients of non-interaction terms do not change. However, when there is an interaction between variables, the coefficients of the non-interaction terms do change due to the non-linear nature of the interaction. This is because linearity preserves translation, but non-linear interactions do not.
monsmatglad
I am studying mean-centering for multiple linear regression (ols).
Specifically I'm talking about the situation when there is interaction.
When centering variables for a regression analysis, my literature tells me that the coefficients do not change? But when there is some sort of interaction between the variables, the coefficients of the non-interaction terms (the variables that take part in the interaction, but are also represented individually) of the variables do in fact change.

When it is said that when centering the variables, "the coefficients do not change", does that only apply to the non-integrated variables?

Physics news on Phys.org
monsmatglad said:
When it is said that when centering the variables, "the coefficients do not change", does that only apply to the non-integrated variables?
What do you mean by 'non-integrated variables'?

oops.. Was supposed to be "non-interaction"

In that case, yes. Consider the model
$$y_j = a_0 + a_1x_1 + a_2x_2 +a_12x_1x_2 + a_3 x_3+\epsilon_j$$
in which there is an interaction of $x_1,x_2$ but no interactions for $x_3$.
Now centring each variable we get
$$y_j = a'_0 + a'_1(x_1-\bar x_1) + a'_2(x_2-\bar x_2) +a'_{12}(x_1-\bar x_1)(x_2-\bar x_2) + a'_3 (x_3-\bar x_3)+\epsilon_j$$
Rearranging this and matching coefficients to the first equation, we get:
  • ##a_0=a'_0-a'_1\bar x_1-a'_2\bar x_2-a'_3\bar x_3 +a'_12\bar x_1\bar x_2##
  • ##a_1=a'_1 - a'_{12}\bar x_2##
  • ##a_2=a'_2 - a'_{12}\bar x_1##
  • ##a_3=a'_3## [no change]
  • ##a_{12}=a'_{12}## [no change]