Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Interested in Engineering

1. Jan 14, 2007 #1
    Hello this is my first post on here so first off i just wanted to introduce myself, my name is Jason and I'm 22 years old.

Well when i graduated high school i went to an aviation college because i thought i wanted to be a pilot, i loved flying but decided it wasn't the right job for me. So i dropped out joined the navy and did that for a bit, i was medically discharged and have been just working physical jobs for the past couple of years. I just recently had a surgery and i will no longer be able to do the jobs i was doing, so I'm taking this time while i recover to go back to school.

I will be start at a community college in a couple of weeks. for now I'm just going to take core classes so i can later transfer to a university. I've been trying hard to think lately about what I'd like to do with my life. for the past couple of years i always thought I'd just go get a business degree but I'm really not that interested in it. I've realized i really like a more hands on type of job, i don't want to just fill out paper work for a bank or large company. As a kid i wanted to be a "jet designer" and have always been interested in how things work (esp anything with a motor) so I'm thinking maybe engineering could be a good program for me to look into. My problem with it is, in high school i didn't do very well with math, i also didn't take high school as serious as i should have!!! i did all right with the sciences esp with the 2 electronics classes i took but i'm just curious if having trouble with maths will prevent me from being a good engineer? i only got to algebra II in high school and took college algebra in college. Any advice is welcome just trying to find a program that interests me, I'd rather enjoy work forever than just get a job and deal with it for the money.