1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Internship Advice

Tags:
  1. May 21, 2014 #1
    Hey guys,

I am planning on applying for a internship when University begins again in the fall. Now I'll be entering into second year, and will most likely be looking for a programming internship or engineering internship (electronics based). I want to use this summer to add skills/projects that would help aid my overall applications/resume.

At the moment the programming languages I'm familiar with are Python (extensive), Java (fair) --currently learning how to develop android apps.
    I'm currently studying databases (XML, SQL) based on the coursera self study course. I've been going over EE fundamentals (coursers course again --no certificate due to late enrolment), and purchased an Arduino starter kit about 2 weeks ago. I want to continue to extend my foundation in electronics over the course of the entire summer. Towards the end of the summer (August) I want to devote myself to C. Also, I'm not sure if maybe I should pick up HTML and CSS, and work on developing a website.

Now I need recommendations/advice on other possible skills/ways that I can help improve my application. Feel to critique my above plans.
    Thank-you .

2. jcsd
  3. May 21, 2014 #2
    So, are you looking for a tech company type internship? If so, I would recommend learning algorithms (try Cormen) for a start. I believe tech companies value it greatly and it is a key component that they look for later on.