1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Interview on Friday

1. Mar 9, 2005 #1
    Ok,

Well I applied for this summer research position at my university. It's for 8 weeks and I would be investigating the structure of Antimony phosphate glasses using 31P solid state NMR. So I'll be making glass samples then analyse them by solid state NMR using J-coupling and dipole-dipole techniques.

I'll be working with other PhD students and members of the faculty.... It's my first real academic interview (I'm a 3rd year physics undergrad) and the guy in charge said that the interview would be informal.. What should I expect do you think? I think by informal he means that they just want to see how interested I am in taking part in the project.

I've spent the last few hours looking for specific information about the Antimony Phosphate and the 31P solid state NMR technique but I haven't really found anything. Most papers just simple state that the technique was used and they assume the reader is familiar with it. Does anyone know anything about this? Or where I might find such information..

Any help or tips would be very much appreciated..

Raj

2. jcsd
  3. Mar 9, 2005 #2

Monique

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Just be yourself and be enthousiastic about working for them :smile:

You might want to prepare yourself to be able to give background information about previous projects you've worked on, or things you would like to do in the future, but it really is not such a big deal.

4. Mar 9, 2005 #3
    Thanks for the comments