1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Intro Physics Help

1. Sep 9, 2007 #1
    A tortoise can run with a speed of 10.3 cm/s, and a hare can run 19.7 times as fast. In a race, they both start at the same time, but the hare stops to rest for 119 seconds. The tortoise wins by a shell (18.2 cm). How long does the race take?

2. Relevant equations

The only thing we've even covered so far is speed = d/t and v=delta x/delta t

3. The attempt at a solution

This is my first time ever taking a physics course and I just don't seem to be getting it. Can anyone help me set up some sort of equation that I would use to solve this problem? I've tried setting up two equations and then using substitution to try to solve for t, but my answers seem to come out to negative numbers. Am I even on the right track with this? Thanks so much

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 9, 2007 #2

learningphysics

Homework Helper

Can you write out the equations you used and show how you tried to work the problem? We will guide you along in the process...

4. Sep 9, 2007 #3
    what I tried to do was set up two equations so that I could end up solving for t(time)

First I figured out that if the hare was going 19.7 times faster, he would be going 202.9 cm/s

so I had d total = 18.2 cm + d one and speed = d/t = 202.9 = d/t, so d=202.9t

then

speed = (18.2 cm + d one)/ t

10.3= (18.2 cm + 202.9t)/t

10.3 t = 18.2 cm + 202.9 t

t = -0.09

Which of course doesn't make sense. I don't think I'm using the right equations in the beginning of the problem.

5. Sep 9, 2007 #4

learningphysics

Homework Helper

You're almost there... the only thing you missed was that if the turtle races for t seconds.... hare only races for t - 119.

So everything you did looks right except done = 202.9(t -119)