Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Introduction to electricity

1. Dec 16, 2014 #1
    Hi guys,
    Basically I'm studying electricity at high school level and I need recommendation on a decent book that covers the basics on electricity as the official textbook misses a lot of detail and there's limited practice questions. I've been to several libraries but the books I've found, most of them at a University, are definitely at a higher level than what I need. The topics that I need to cover are the following:
    - Circuit rules
    - Resisstance (in series, in parallel..)
    - Emf and internal resisstance
    - More circuit calculations (circuits with cells in series, in parallel..)
    - The potential divider
    - Alternating currents
    - Using an oscilloscope and how to use it as a dc voltmeter
    I would also appreciate if those books come with a number of exercises to practice.
    Thanks a lot in advance!

2. jcsd
  3. Dec 16, 2014 #2

RonL

Gold Member

I found this book and it became my go-to book most often.

https://www.amazon.com/Electricity-...7-2554432?ie=UTF8&refRID=0F2D0MKD46BHGGVH7V6C

If you need some practice projects on the cheap, Radio Shack has some pretty good ones by Nims.

Last edited by a moderator: May 7, 2017
  4. Dec 16, 2014 #3
    1)Halliday resnick and krane (contains both mechanics and electricity but cover all the important theories)
    2)Halliday resnick and Jearl Walker(more basic)
    3)try khanacademy.org

5. Dec 17, 2014 #4