Introduction to Mainfolds Help

In summary, the conversation discusses the differences and relationships between Euclidean space, topological space, metric space, and vector space. It also suggests referring to Wikipedia for exact definitions. The conversation provides a brief explanation of metric and topological spaces, and suggests asking a specific question about vector spaces. Finally, it mentions the definition of n-dimensional Euclidean space.
mundo44
I am taking a class on Manifolds and whilst reading the book I came about some terminology that has got me confused.

What is the differences/relations between these terms?

Euclidian Space
Topological Space
Metric Space
Vector Space

I thought that a vector space was based on the premise that each coordinate described by its values are of an Euclidian Space, but the book I am reading acts as though they are completely two different things. Also, the other terms are used in Differential Geometry and I have no experience with them. So could you guys clarify, I would appreciate it a lot! :)

Physics news on Phys.org
mundo44 said:
I am taking a class on Manifolds and whilst reading the book I came about some terminology that has got me confused.

What is the differences/relations between these terms?

Euclidian Space
Topological Space
Metric Space
Vector Space

I thought that a vector space was based on the premise that each coordinate described by its values are of an Euclidian Space, but the book I am reading acts as though they are completely two different things. Also, the other terms are used in Differential Geometry and I have no experience with them. So could you guys clarify, I would appreciate it a lot! :)
I suggest Wikipedia for the exact definitions.