1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Introductory MATLAB question

1. Sep 27, 2011 #1
    so for a practice exam we have the following problem:

Write a commented and well-structured Matlab function that takes two positive integers, a and b, as the input, and then displays the sum of all numbers that are odd or can be divided by 3 without a remainder between a and b (including a and b). For example, if the user inputs 6 and 12, the program should display 45 as the output (sum of 6,7,9,11,12: 6+7+9+11+12=45). If a number is both odd and can be divided by 3 without a remainder, your program should include it only once in the summation (as in the case of 9 in the example above).

2. I am very new to MATLAB, as in, I just started two weeks ago, and have never done any programming of any kind prior to this course, so i have no intuition when it comes to this. After attending every class period, I know that we have not covered how we're supposed to approach this problem. The lab portion is handled by a Chinese study abroad student, and I cannot get past the language barrier with her. I have a tenuous grasp of the subject at hand without trying to interpret what she is trying to say.

3. My request: Please explain how to go about this in a form that I, an idiot, can understand. I honestly don't even know where to begin with this.

We have covered basic structuring of if-elseif, for-loops, and while-loops.

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 29, 2011 #2

MATLABdude

Science Advisor

Forget about the requirement for MATLAB.