Exploring Inverter Topologies for Low Power Induction Motor

In summary: Code=as2&creativeASIN=0137967632 In summary, an inverter is a device that can convert DC voltage into three-phase AC voltage. It is an efficient and reliable devices that come in a variety of sizes and power ranges. The best textbook to learn about inverters is the GE SCR manual.
saboor42390
Hi folks, I'm new to both the forums and the concept of inverters.

For my project, I've been told to look up various inverter topologies.

I've read inverters in a textbook, course notes, over the web, with PLECS, and I'm still confused.

Maybe, I just need a good place to start. I understand basics of circuits.

I've been trying to simulate inverters using PLECS to no avail. Although, that could just be my lack of experience with the software.

I'm supposed to simulate a way to convert DC voltage into three-phase AC voltage. Our group leader has designated a pulse-width modulated (PWM) hex-bridge inverter to be implemented.

However, we do not necessarily have to follow the above design. We're pretty free in deciding what works best for our low power induction motor. I just need to find a good way to create a sinusoidal voltage after a DC/DC converter steps up the voltage.

So, for the more experienced of you, any topologies that would work for this situation?

I'd appreciate schematics, circuit diagrams, links, etc.

I'm really lost here and don't know where to turn. Thank you.

Engineering news on Phys.org
saboor42390 said:
Hi folks, I'm new to both the forums and the concept of inverters.

I've read inverters in a textbook, course notes, over the web, with PLECS, and I'm still confused.

Maybe, I just need a good place to start. I understand basics of circuits.

I've been trying to simulate inverters using PLECS to no avail. Although, that could just be my lack of experience with the software.