1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Irreducible polynomials

1. Apr 19, 2006 #1

mathwonk

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

im teeching algebra and had to prove that X^5 - 8 was irreducible over the rationals. so i did it using eisenstein.

then more generally i seem to have proved that X^n - a is irreducible over the rationals whenever it has no rational root.

but i used galois theory, and the course im teching does not have that in it.

is there an easier proof? im a rookie at this stuff.

thanks

:smile:

2. jcsd
  3. Apr 19, 2006 #2

shmoe

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

That doesn't seem to be true in general, x^4-4=(x^2-2)(x^2+2), but it has no rational root.

4. Apr 19, 2006 #3

AKG

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

[tex]x^5-8 = \prod _{k=1}^5(x-\alpha\xi ^k)[/tex]