Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Is c the fastest known velocity?

1. Nov 8, 2005 #1
    Is "c" the fastest known velocity?

Hi all,

Newbie here wants to know, after a discussion over dinner with some friends, if the speed of light is the fastest known rate in the universe.

Specifically, I want to know if the universe can expand at a rate > "c".
    I think not, because if the the universe does expand at a rate > "c", than our Hubble and other land based telescope won't be able to catch lights from distant galaxies.

I know I should run a search in the forum first :biggrin: , but I figure I might get a quicker answer this way. If I do not get any replies, I'll then run a search.

Thank you all, and I will actively join in in the discussions of this forum.

:biggrin: :biggrin: :biggrin:

2. jcsd
  3. Nov 8, 2005 #2
    This is by no means my area of expertise (not that I really have any), so someone correct me if I'm wrong:

Inflationary theory holds that space-time itself expanded at a super-luminal velocity. This has to be the case in order for regions in the universe that are separated by a distance greater than ct to be in thermal equilibrium.

In other words, inflation was introduced to allow the big bang theory to predict the observed homogeneity of the background radiation.

This might seem to contradict special relativity, that states c is the speed limit, but in fact, AFAIK, special relativity doesn't say anything about space-time itself (in that respect).

And yes, if the universe were to accelerate at a rate greater than c we would be unable to observe distant galaxies.

4. Nov 8, 2005 #3
    Thanks for the quick reply.

So is there a value for which the universe is expanding? ie expanding at "c" or slighly less than "c".

Thanks,

:biggrin: :biggrin: :biggrin:

5. Nov 8, 2005 #4

russ_watters

Staff: Mentor