Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

I Is collapse indispensable?

1. Jan 28, 2016 #1

A. Neumaier

Science Advisor
    2016 Award

I studied lots of points of view, and lots of how physicists actually use quantum mechanics in the applications. I came to the conclusion that there is an objective and a subjective side to quantum mechanics.

The collapse belongs to the subjective side, since it is associated with ''knowledge'' of which nature is ignorant.

''shut up and calculate'' belongs to the objective side. it couldn't work if the collapse were indispensable.

Properly distinguishing between an objective and a subjective side clears up a lot of the confusion prevailing in the foundations of QM.

Last edited: Jan 28, 2016
  2. jcsd
  3. Jan 28, 2016 #2

A. Neumaier

Science Advisor
    2016 Award

Yes, there is no consensus. How could it be otherwise in the foundations of QM, where conflicting opinions abound for nearly a century, and there is no consensus about anything! The reason why there is no consensus is that the whole context is a bit vague, and since a lot depends on what people are looking for.

Can you please give a precise reference for Nielsen and Chuang?

4. Jan 28, 2016 #3
    How do those that believe in collapse frame it within special relativity?

5. Jan 28, 2016 #4

A. Neumaier

Science Advisor
    2016 Award

It happens of course in the frame of the observer only. This is the way things are reconciled with causality.

Measurement in the context of relativity is discussed in a survey article by Terno and Peres. They write on p.6:
    ''Dirac (1947) wrote “a measurement always causes the system to jump into an eigenstate of the dynamical variable being measured.” Here, we must be careful: a quantum jump (also called collapse) is something that happens in our description of the system, not to the system itself.''

6. Jan 28, 2016 #5