1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Is engineering for me?

1. Aug 13, 2008 #1
    This might seem like an odd question or whatever but I figure I mine as well ask it. I really enjoy building things, trying new things and being creative. The thing is though I'm not very good at math and critical things like that. I would much rather sit down with a welder and a pile of junk and make something than figure out the velocity of something. I'm just not wired that way. So my question is, is engineering something that I should look into or would the math rule me out? Or what resources would you recommend to overcome the math? I'm of course willing to work at it to make sure what I want to build comes to life but is there a way to make the math a little more bearable?
  2. jcsd
  3. Aug 13, 2008 #2
    You could go into welding//metalworking or some other crafting profession--or try for an mechanical engineering tech program (which is different from regular mechanical engineering program, less math oriented more field-work oriented).

You'd probably be better suited for building though. Engineering is more analytical problem solving than anything.
  4. Aug 13, 2008 #3
    Thank you for the advice! What does the tech program include is it more hands on?
  5. Aug 13, 2008 #4
    i did mechanical engineering in dublin institute of technology, dit. (honors degree)