Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Is Everything Predictable?

1. Jul 25, 2010 #1
    Alright, so I am new to the whole "Quantum Physics" thing, so please don't jump down my throat. I have seen this question asked elsewhere, however a lingering question persists in my mind.

Let's assume that we know all variables involved in a particular situation. Some will assert that:

a) This is just not possible. We can never know all variables in a given situation (it would take too much time!).
    b) This is just not possible. There are situations in which random factors affect the situation, making it impossible to predict (at a subatomic level) what will really happen.
    c) Even if we know all variables, it is still not possible to predict the random factors associated with it.

Now, I may not have produced the most eloquent set of circumstances, but the question I have for you folk is, what if those "random factors" that I hear so much about, are still not so random? I mean, when you pose the question of: will two identical unstable nuclei will not decay at the same identical time?; how do we know that at an even deeper level, these are really identical? Or that came into existence at exactly the same frame in time?

I assert that for this particular question of randomness, if you will, that in exactly the same closed environment, if both unstable nuclei were created at the exact same time in the exact same coordinates within their closed environment, and have the exact same makeup, that they WILL, indeed, decay at the exact same time.

Please tell me if I'm foolish.
  2. jcsd
  3. Jul 25, 2010 #2
    You may want to look up Bell's inequalities and Hidden Variables
  4. Jul 25, 2010 #3

Science Advisor

If you have a state vector, e.g. |neutron>, this is all you can say and know about a neutron. Anyway, you can't say when it will decay.