Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Is Hawking worth it?

1. Aug 23, 2010 #1
    Hello, I've heard Hawking is giving a lecture this october in England (I myself am a Belgian) and I was wondering if it's worth the trouble to attend it? I'm a 2nd year college student and passionate about physics, but Hawking has never really gripped me, but that's maybe because I don't know much about the man. Apparently he is going to talk about his new book The Grand Design. If it were a lecture by, say, Heisenberg (rip), I'd be jumping up and down to get there, but somehow Hawking talking about his new book doesn't unleash a fire. I'm not asking you guys to make up my mind for him, but I'm not sure what to expect (I've never been to a lecture before): is it my moral duty as a passionate physicist to grasp this opportunity to see one of the most proclaimed physicists of our time in a lecture? And if so, are his lectures scarce?

Thank you

2. jcsd
  3. Aug 23, 2010 #2

lisab

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

I'd say, go. It's not likely you will regret going, but someday you will probably regret it if you don't go.

4. Aug 24, 2010 #3
    Well, if the only thing that excites you is a physicist coming back from the dead and doing a lecture, this will be one boring life.

5. Aug 24, 2010 #4
    Professor Hawking is a very interesting speaker when he's on a roll, which is pretty much all the time.

6. Aug 24, 2010 #5

Gokul43201

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

I wouldn't spend hundreds of Euros and days off to travel to wherever to listen to Hawking talk about a book. Instead, I might read the reviews, and if they are good, I'd buy the book and read it instead.