1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Other Is it bad to not do an REU?

Tags:
  1. Jan 13, 2017 #1
    So I've been apart of a research group for the ~1.5 years and am in the process of getting a paper published although I'll be 2nd or 3rd author. How much does it impact me if I don't do an REU? I'm currently a 3rd year student and I plan on graduating in 4 years.

2. jcsd
  3. Jan 13, 2017 #2

Choppy

Science Advisor
    Education Advisor

Impact with respect to what exactly?

For things like graduate school admissions, making decisions about what fields to pursue, or just general experience building, the point is to get *some* research experience. Whether that comes from working with a local research group, an REU, a senior thesis project, or some other means doesn't matter all that much.

For what it's worth, as an undergrad doing work in a group where you're getting a publication is about as good as it gets. If you enjoy the work, are learning from doing it, and there are continuing possibilities for more publications, I'd certainly stick with it. I would only change if you really feel the need to explore other options, have decided you want to go into another area for graduate school, don't like the group, or don't feel like you're learning anything.

4. Jan 13, 2017 #3
    Opportunities for productive work in a short time are likely to be better after 1.5 years than shorter term opportunities like internships and REUs. I often counsel undergrads to stay at their home institutions and pursue research over the summer rather than chasing every external possibility that comes along. I recommend that external opportunities should be in a completely different league to lure students away from good research at their home institutions.