Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Is Latex still relevant?

1. Aug 10, 2015 #1
    As a current Physics student, I am wondering if LaTex is still worth learning?

How often is LaTex still used, and do you think WYSIWYG editors like Microsoft Word has replaced the need to learn LaTex?

I appreciate your opinions. Thanks

2. jcsd
  3. Aug 10, 2015 #2
    Everyone uses [itex] \LaTeX [/itex], and the basics are very simple.

4. Aug 10, 2015 #3
    LaTeX is probably worth learning even if you are not a physicist, if only for the sake of producing ordered, clean, structured documents. You can achieve any result of Microsoft Word with LaTex (though sometimes it takes creativity and some coding skills), plus there's lots automated functions built in (LaTeX keeps track of numbering and names of chapters, sections, figures, equations, etc. for you, so you can focus on the content of your work and not the layout or referencing). Also, many journals expect you to submit a LaTeX document and usually provide a LaTeX template for you to use.

5. Aug 10, 2015 #4
    Thanks for the detailed reply. I will learn LaTex then.

6. Aug 10, 2015 #5
  7. Aug 10, 2015 #6

e.bar.goum

Science Advisor
    Education Advisor

Just a warning: After you've learned LaTeX, you'll never go back to Word! :wink:

It's not too hard to learn, incredibly powerful, and it gives, oh, so pretty results. Frankly, I wouldn't use anything else to typset a serious document.

However, there are WYSIWYG editors for LaTeX that remove some of the learning curve for you. Personally, I don't use a WYSIWYG editor, but I know those who do, and they seem to like them well enough. There are also dedicated LaTeX (non-WYSIWYG) editors like Kile that are pretty great.

8. Aug 10, 2015 #7

micromass

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Education Advisor
    2016 Award