1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Physics Is Physics for you?

1. Dec 22, 2012 #1
    Is it true that only the most talented Physicists will get the top positions in physics research, or are there other factors that are more important than talent?

Also for those who went into academia, how did you guys decide that it was for you? I'm considering of going into research for physics, but I'm not entirely sure if that's what I'd enjoy most. I'm also discouraged by how difficult it is to even get a permanent position.

I'm a 3rd year undergrad by the way.

2. jcsd
  3. Dec 22, 2012 #2

Pythagorean

Gold Member

The only other factor is politics. If you're good at it (as well as having sufficient scientific talent) you can land more admin type jobs in the sciences.

4. Dec 22, 2012 #3

Choppy

Science Advisor
    Education Advisor

There are a lot of factors involved. In general those who end up in academic research positions tend to be quite talented. I'm not sure what you mean by "top" positions though.

One of the big factors is being lucky enough to have a background in what turns out to be a "hot" field. In the years it takes to do a post doc and a PhD whatever you work on could become obsolete or simply no longer be of much interest to the wider academic community. On the other hand, your area of expertise could also take off - meaning there are more funding opportunities and therefore more job prospects.