1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Is the physics education system in the USA more hardcore/rigorous than in the UK?

1. Oct 9, 2011 #1
    I read stuff on this website all the time where people have given accounts of how they've had to study 80 hours a week or whatever to get an A or to maintain the GPA required for the top grade. Also, I'm aware that a PhD takes much longer to complete across the pond than it does over here in the UK (3 years here).

I'm a new PhD student and I did graduate my physics degree with 1.1 classification, but I only just scraped it, and the only time I ever found myself studying relentlessly would be the 4 weeks or so leading up to the exam period. I'd pretty much coast through the semester then I'd kill myself going flat out in the revision period. I can't help but get the impression that I'm an inferior graduate compared to those who post on this site. Is there really much difference between the 2 systems?
    Does the American system grow stronger physicists than the British one currently does?

2. jcsd
  3. Oct 9, 2011 #2