Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Is there a simpler design?

1. Aug 18, 2011 #1
    I'm a high school student and i have a great interest in particle physics. I'm looking to build a small linear particle accelerator. I have come across the designs attached files.php?pid=91557&aid=2775.jpg
    files.php?pid=91559&aid=2776.jpg i was wondering if there is a simpler design? I'm new to the forum so any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

2. jcsd
  3. Aug 20, 2011 #2

Drakkith

Staff: Mentor

First, do you have any knowledge of how to safely use high voltage and how to deal with radiation? Those are REQUIRED if you are going to build anything like this.

4. Aug 20, 2011 #3
    Yes i have prior experience with high voltage applications (examples, 900,000 Volt Tesla Coil-500,000 volt Van De Graaff generator. all of which i have built.) I am familiar with the fact that particle accelerators emit radiation. I would like some help and information about controlling the radiation and protecting my self from it, there was some suggestions in the attached link to a pdf file on the last page on protection from the radiation. I understand this is a very complicated project. I'm just trying to accelerate particles at a slower rate than what this particular design runs at. I'm not trying to create antimatter or anything of that nature, I'm just trying to run my own experiments in which i can study the collisions of atoms.

http://www.sciencemadness.org/talk/files.php?pid=91439&aid=2765" [Broken]

Last edited by a moderator: May 5, 2017
  5. Aug 20, 2011 #4