Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Is there engineering

1. Jan 31, 2005 #1
    Could someone tell me which engineering program requires least physics?

1. Electrical

2. Industrial

3. Mechanical

2. jcsd
  3. Jan 31, 2005 #2

cronxeh

Gold Member

Industrial

4. Jan 31, 2005 #3
    all three require physics, least is incorrect

5. Jan 31, 2005 #4
    when you speak in general, least or most stand for nothing

6. Feb 1, 2005 #5

Clausius2

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

It depends on what country are you referring to. Here, an Industrial Engineer (I am studying this program) is the same that an Electrical Engineer or Mechanical Engineer. All these branches belong to Industrial Engineering. Later, after two or three years, you get specialized in one of these topics: Mechanics, Electricity, Electronics, Materials, Energy, Organzation.

So that, between Electrical and Mechanical engineering (as I know them here), I would say that both of them requires a large effort in physics:

-Electricity: you should deal with Electromagnetic and Circuits Theory. It requires a lot physics and calculation skills. But perhaps, the formulae is easier than other parts of the physics engineering.

-Mechanics: A good mechanical engineer/student must know about resistance of materials and elasticity. Both of them are heavily charged with formulation, although they are used as integral expressions (i.e Navier-Bresse equations).

In my case, I am specialized in Energy, although I think it would be englobed into some part between the mechanical and aerospace programs in USA. This discipline is the heaviest charged one in engineering. I have to deal with partial differential equations every time, and concepts of fluids and heat must be very solid in your head.

7. Feb 1, 2005 #6

Cliff_J

Science Advisor