Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Is there such a laptop

1. Nov 27, 2006 #1
    I need a laptop

Thin and light as possible (<= 1" thick, < 4 lbs)
    NO need for optical drive (i dont want the option where you could remove an optical drive, i need a laptop where they take into consideration not putting an optical drive in its design which I think makes for a much thinner laptop)
    large capacity hard drive (at least 60GB)
    core duo but not necessary
    no less than 1 GB ram
    no specific graphics requirement
    USB ports - yes
    wireless lan connection
    12.1" , 13.3", or 14" screen ok...15" might be too big and more expensive
    no need for built in webcam
    long battery life
    low cost as much as possible (trying for max 1200 USD) so I kinda wanna rule out sony.
    no apple's please. i'm an engineering student and need to use some windows software in my studies.
    So has anyone come across anything close to this?
  2. jcsd
  3. Nov 27, 2006 #2
    a tablet PC might be something you want to consider. Some of the ones I've seen meet most of your criteria aside from maybe the CPU and price range. $1200 isn't much for any kind of laptop especially considering some of your criteria.
  4. Nov 27, 2006 #3
    Take a look at hp.com's notebooks and play around with their customizations.
  5. Nov 27, 2006 #4

Science Advisor