Is it realistic to finish a classical electrodynamics book in 2 months?

• Thread starter Qubix
  • Start date
In summary: Well, here's the catch, I self-study, that's the way I've been learning since I was in high school. I'm a graduate student now, and I feel I need to review some notions of Electrodynamics and learn others that I've skipped during my undergraduate years. I don't think this is a realistic goal, if for no other reason than that you will not finish the book in two months. It will take you much longer, probably closer to six months.
Qubix
Ok , so I have to finish a classical electrodynamics book ASAP... I absolutely hate it when I have to study with a deadline, but that's how it goes. Here's the book:

https://www.amazon.com/dp/0805387331/?tag=pfamazon01-20

Here's my question :

Is it realistic to set myself the goal of finishing this book in 2 months? (problems and everything) ?

Physics news on Phys.org
Qubix said:
Is it realistic to set myself the goal of finishing this book in 2 months? (problems and everything) ?
Obviously, it depends on how much else you will be doing during the time period. The book has 500 pages, so you would need to read an average of 8 and a half pages a day for 60 days. This doesn't seem too stringent to me. However, you must also do the problems and I can't say how long that will take.

Insufficient data for us to say: without knowing how hard you are going to find the problems in the book as well as an understanding of how ease of problems relates to time taken to solve it's impossible to say how long it will take you to finish this book.

However if your tutor has set you this task then obviously they expect you to be able to do it, if you think they are a good judge of both your capabilities and the difficulty of the book then yes it is likely a realistic goal.

ryan_m_b said: