1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Is this course load too much?

1. Oct 23, 2015 #1
    I'm a sophomore Physics major, and I'm considering double majoring in Physics/Math. So I've looked over the classes I need to take, and next semester requires me to take Modern Physics, Differential Equations, and Applied Probability-Statistics. To be honest, I don't know much about what Modern Physics and Probability entail, so I don't want to be in over my head.

I know that "what's too much" is subjective, but I just want to know about the general difficulty of these three courses combined. For reference about what I can handle, I was able to handle Cal Based Physics I, Chem II, and Cal II all at the same time pretty well (all As and Bs). I mean, I sacrificed a social life because of it, but who needs that anyway?

I would ask my advisor, but registration is Monday, and I just found out I need to take the Stats course today. So I'm here.

Any feedback is appreciated. Thanks.

2. jcsd
  3. Oct 23, 2015 #2

Choppy

Science Advisor
    Education Advisor

It's difficult to say how challenging a course will be based on it's title.

The way I would look at this is that you've listed three standard curriculum courses and you are likely to find those ones roughly on par with the other ones you listed. Is taking these courses consistent with your long-term goals? If, for example, you're hoping to go to graduate school in physics, balking at the difficulty of three standard courses doesn't bode well because you're likely to face far greater challenges moving forward. Learning how to balance an intense academic work load and a social life at this stage will be beneficial later on.