1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Java or c++?

1. Jul 13, 2015 #1
    Hi everyone... I'm a communication system engineering student and in my university we use studying Java. Now, for this summer, when I ll have free time, I was thinking about doing some practice with programming and maybe studying a new language, such C++( it s still a widesprrad language and I think Id like the freedom it gives you) . The problem I want to ask is, is it convenient( in terms of job opportunities), to learn java and c++ or only doing good java programming would be enough?? Are there many entry level jobs out there as java may have, or given it s a though language, employers will just require you more experience?
    P.s.I d like to work in the field od medical imaging in the future, where c++ is very used too, although I need experience working with other companies before.

2. jcsd
  3. Jul 13, 2015 #2
    Your employment potential is much greater with C++ and Java than Java alone.

4. Jul 13, 2015 #3
    And with the job experience instead? Is it there much difference with the experience required to get, say, a c++ position, rather than a Java one?

5. Jul 13, 2015 #4
    That depends on where you are and on the specific job you are applying for.

Companies weigh education, experience, and programming skills differently in their hiring processes.

You need to convince them that you can really program. Code samples and detailed descriptions of completed projects is most convincing.

6. Jul 13, 2015 #5
    Yes, the fact about projects is true...but how much difference would it be in terms of job opportunities ( for entry level jobs) between a java and c++ programmer? Java is good to find job, but is c++ that bad ??

7. Jul 13, 2015 #6