Choose the Best Programming Language for You

In summary, Python is a very elegant, simple language that can be learned relatively quickly. Java is a resource hog, but Python really has little advantage, if any, on resource consumption.
thomate1
I am a physics student. I am very much interested in computers.I have already studied C++. I would like to study Java also. But some friends told me that Python is far better than Java. Can u please help me to choose one of them?

Computer science news on Phys.org
I come from a C/C++ background and I've tried java a couple of times but never found it compelling enough to learn. Its very clunky and consumes lots of memory (8-16MB min). Python on the other hand is a very nice language. It has very clean syntax and programs can be developed quickly. It also has a small memory foot print and you can include C/C++ modules in your code to speed up execution.

I'm avoiding discussing about which of them is the best to learn, but you should know that moving from C++ to Java is much easier (may take just weeks) than moving from C++ to Python. So you can learn a few additional things about Java (especially multithreading) and go on with Python.

dduardo,

Python often has a memory footprint similar to Java, and Python is usually quite a bit slower. Compared to C++, Java is a resource hog, but Python really has little advantage, if any, on resource consumption.

The advantage of Python is that it's a very elegant, simple language.

I would advise learning Python over Java for one simple reason: You will learn more about computer programming in general by learning a language distinctly different from the one you already know. Syntactically and conceptually, Java is similar enough to C++ that I consider them related languages. Python, on the other hand, is radically different (and better) than both in many ways.

Go with Python.

- Warren