What is the true value of a career in physics compared to engineering?

In summary, as an undergrad physics major, you may have heard that physics majors have limited job opportunities and low pay. However, this may not necessarily be true according to your own research which showed a potential salary of $117k-$170k per year. Additionally, the unemployment rate among PhD physicists is low, but many may struggle to find faculty positions at top universities. It is recommended to have a backup plan and to consider the long-term financial value of different career options.
PhysixChick
I'm an undergrad physics major, and I constantly hear from peers and outside sources that physics majors have eight years of schooling, and get paid like dang, and that it's hard to find a job as a research physicist (that's what I want to do). I'm wondering why people say this though, because I took out a student loan and to take it out, I was required to make a hypothetical payment plan for post-grad, and part of this included me entering my major and degree level to determine my future salary. Well I ended up having been calculated as making $170k/yr (correct me if I'm wrong, but that's clearly not entry level) by my school website. I also looked up my salary and job outlook on www.bls.gov and it said that the job market is growing as fast as average, and that the median salary is $117k/yr. Either way (whether it's 117k or 170k) I'm content.