Finding a Job in the U.S. with a Background in Nuclear Physics: Tips and Advice

In summary, the French scientific programmer with a PhD in Nuclear Physics is moving to the U.S. and is looking for a job in either the government or private sector. He is also interested in staying connected to the scientific community and is subscribed to the APS and ANS career websites.
starbuckBSG
Hello, I'm a French scientific programmer with a PhD in Nuclear Physics. During and after my PhD, I worked and still work at a French national laboratory on nuclear energy working on scientific software. I'm moving to the U.S. in a few months for my American wife's career in Northern California (San Francisco Bay Area) and am a green card holder / permanent resident.

I plan to do the regular job search online, but I would also like to get involved in the scientific community to keep up my skill set and network. I would be happy to volunteer too. I've already signed up for membership with APS (American Physical Society) and ANS (American Nuclear Society), but would like to network more face-to-face. I was wondering if anyone could give me advice on my job search. I know it will be particularly hard because of my nuclear background (often, these jobs require U.S. citizenship / clearance). Merci!

Physics news on Phys.org
Well, you'll be in Stanford's back yard, so I would start by looking at SLAC or Lawrence Livermoore.

Being geographically limited is going to make it harder, but I agree with daveb to check out Lawrence Livermore National Lab (https://www.llnl.gov/) and
SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory (http://www.slac.stanford.edu/).