Is it difficult to find jobs for physics graduates in today's job market?

• Physics
  • Thread starter alexepascual
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Jobs Physics
In summary, the conversation discusses the current job market for individuals with degrees in physics and electrical engineering. The speaker shares their personal experience of struggling to find employment in these fields due to outsourcing and economic changes, and questions the validity of claims about high demand for these professions. The conversation also touches on the idea of pursuing a PhD in physics and the potential challenges and opportunities it may bring. The speaker advises seeking information from various sources to have a more realistic understanding of job prospects.
alexepascual
In 1998 I got my bachelor's degree in physics. I was intending to teach high school, but after a year teaching (or baby-sitting) I discovered that was not for me. I found a job as an engineer at a thin films company where I got a chance to work on interesting projects, apply some of what I had learned in school, and learn some more. After about two years and a half I went to work for a company doing work on fiber-optical components. I lasted there about six months as the telecommunications industry was doing badly. This was some time after 911 and the corporate scandals. Then the war in Iraq started. I was thinking that sooner or later, the job situation was going to improve. Now that seems unlikely, at least in engineering fields.