1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Jobs with a lot of free time.

1. Apr 22, 2009 #1
    I'm wondering if anyone can suggest jobs at which I would have a lot of free time, to work on my computer. I have a couple of ideas for projects, but they won't produce any income for the short term. Any suggestions of jobs I could look for? I have my BSc in Math Phys, but I'm not particular about what field I work in, as long as I've got free time. I'm thinking of stuff along the lines of the guy who sits in the photo radar van, or maybe security guard at an old folks home (though that may depend on the home).

Thanks in advance.

2. jcsd
  3. Apr 22, 2009 #2
    I can think of a few. Bum, drifter, convict, congressman, etc.

4. Apr 22, 2009 #3

mgb_phys

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

To quote a very very old joke.
    child1>when I grow up I want to be a school crossing guard
    child2>why?
    child1>Cos you don't need to start work until you're 65

5. Apr 22, 2009 #4

f95toli

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

There are jobs where people work for example two weeks and then have three weeks off. This is pretty common in for example the oil industry (especially for people who work on platforms at sea).
    Note, however, that "two weeks" really means 14 days straight, usually 12 hours or more a day (or night). It is hard work so it is by no means an easy life.
    I did two rotations like this when I was working on a shipyard in Norway one summer (when I was still an undergraduate student). It is a strange life; especially when you are working nights 14 days in a row like I did the first rotation.

6. Apr 22, 2009 #5