Joining together data from two different MRI protocols

In summary: DCE and T1-maps - and you are trying to match their baselines in order to accurately calculate the concentration of the contrast agent in each voxel. It is important to understand the process of baseline normalization and how the T1 values were obtained from the T1-maps. I recommend reaching out to the MRI scientists for assistance in understanding these steps and troubleshooting any discrepancies you have observed. With a clear understanding of the data and the process, you will be able to accurately analyze the data and achieve your goal of calculating the concentration of the contrast agent.I hope this summary has been helpful to you. Best of luck with your analysis!
ElijahRockers
Gold Member
I should start by saying that, as a novice data analyst, I have very little experience with MRI physics, but I believe I understand the absolute fundamentals. Also, this post mostly concerns data analysis issues so might be better suited for some other signal processing forum, but I'm hoping someone knowledgeable about MRIs might be able to at least point me in the right direction.

Below is as much as I have been able to understand about the data, assuming it's correct.

I have been given two data sets, encompassing a total three hour contrast enhanced MRI scan. In the first ten minutes, a large quantity of 'DCE' scans are taken, with contrast injection taking place sometime after the first ten or eleven DCE samples. These ten or eleven samples are pre-injection, and thus used as a baseline.

This produces some signal intensity for each voxel, which we can convert to a T1 weighted volume using the following equation:

[tex] S = \frac{S_0 sin(\alpha) (1 - E_1) e^{-TE/T2}}{[1-E_1 cos(\alpha)]}[/tex]