Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Journal thinks I'm a Professor

1. Apr 25, 2008 #1
    When I submitted my article I did not provide any titles. I'm not a Prof, so I was wondering how on earth they decided that I'm a Prof. The first message I received from the journal was an automatic message and it already put the title Professor before my name.

In communications with the editor I was called Dr.. But when when my article was accepted and transferred to Elsevier I became a Professor yet again. :rofl:

2. jcsd
  3. Apr 27, 2008 #2
    Then that must be one dumb journal !

4. Apr 27, 2008 #3
    I submitted 'something' to the NSF and they called me a 'physicist'---go figure!

5. Apr 27, 2008 #4

GCT

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

No ... not one dumb journal .... it happened with Nature when Kary Mullis wrote up an article on the nature of time - an article he wrote while he was doped on hallucinogens. Back then he wasn't a phD and he wasn't a physicist yet the journal accredited him on being a physics professor and obviously seemed to have a liking to his "insight" on the nature of time which probably had no scientific value whatsoever ; he won the Nobel Prize in his respective subject in chemistry for PCR. He writes about Nature's stupidity and how they were embarrased by all of this in his autobiography - in fact getting an article in Nature gave him an advantage in his early career.

6. Apr 27, 2008 #5

Moonbear

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member