1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Just finished undergraduate with a bad GPA, and need help!

1. Nov 18, 2011 #1
    To give you my rundown, I finished Dec 2010 at a top 20 university with a Math BA degree but unfortunately, did not do very well; I finished with an overall GPA of 2.8 and a major GPA of 2.6. To make matters worse, I did badly because I was a lazy and disorganized student with the wrong priorities. Consequently, I do not have good major grades, no research experience, and honestly, no teachers from upper level classes (300 level or higher) that I can ask for recommendations.

Since I finished undergrad, I've had a very good chance to think about the future, get organized and get my priorities straight. My goal is graduate school for math and well, I'm going to do what I need to do to get there. I've spent a good part of this year talking to math professors and people involved in the community to find out what I can do within the field, and am also working on a computational neuroscience research project which applies mathematical models to some specific neuroscience topics. As well, I'm auditing graduate algebra and doing my best to keep up with the material and do the homework and am also studying for the GRE mathematics subject test to take in April of next year.

As far as I can tell from my own thoughts and the advice that I've gotten thus far from others, these don't seem like bad moves to be taking but I am also certain that they will not be enough to get me past a bad undergrad degree.