1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Just learning Physics

1. Oct 11, 2011 #1
    SO today,, I got 27/60 on a test... I know it's sad...
    it's so shocking that
    I really want to put and dedicate on learning physics now. But I just don't know how to but besides studying... Actually.. I just don't know how to study physics....
    Just how do you study or learn physics?? and i am talking about AP Physics B in highschool..
    And yes, It's all to improve my grade..

P.S Sorry, If i post this on a wrong section,, Kind of a newbie here '>';;

2. jcsd
  3. Oct 11, 2011 #2

Drakkith

Staff: Mentor

Hard to say. Why did you fail? What are you having trouble with?

4. Oct 11, 2011 #3
    I failed forces... Now i am learning work and energies

5. Oct 11, 2011 #4

Drakkith

Staff: Mentor

Alright. What were you having trouble with specifically? Any particular aspect of the material? The math? The concepts? Definitions? Applying it to problems?

6. Oct 11, 2011 #5
    Concepts and applying to problems.. Those types of questions are the ones that always get me on the tests.

7. Oct 11, 2011 #6

micromass

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Education Advisor
    2016 Award

A few tips:

- Make a lot of practice problems. They'll enhance your understanding.
    - Work hard.
    - Get somebody to tutor you to explain you the concepts.

8. Oct 11, 2011 #7
    Are you drawing out every single force problem you do? Much harder to make mistakes when you draw out the problem.

9. Oct 11, 2011 #8
    Yes I do draw them. But it's like I get confused how to solve it after drawing

10. Oct 11, 2011 #9
    AH !! so sorry again for posting in wrong section!!!

11. Oct 12, 2011 #10
    teh book Thinking Physics by Lewis Carroll Epstein helped me a lot.