Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Kilograms and Slugs

1. Apr 19, 2007 #1
    Ok heres an easy one for you.

we start with F=ma

SI --> newtons=kilograms*gravity

English --> pounds=slugs*gravity

So now why if you weigh yourself on an english scale it is in pounds, but if you stand on a metric scale it is in kilograms? Ive solved plenty of F=ma problems throughout my college courses, but this question is something that just dosent seem clear to me. It seems that the units are wrong, shouldnt they be reading newtons & pounds or kilograms & slugs? I never even heard of a newton or a slug until I started studying engineering.

2. jcsd
  3. Apr 20, 2007 #2

Gib Z

Homework Helper

Well I have never dealt with pounds/slugs before but I don't see what the problem is. When we step on a scale that is metric, we get an idea of our mass by the kilogram value. However, if someone was to tell us how many Newtons we weighed, it would still give me an idea of my mass.

So perhaps In England, thats exactly what their doing.

4. Apr 20, 2007 #3

Integral

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

It is all in how the lines are drawn on the scale. Americans weigh themselfs in lbs, Euorpeans , Mass themselfs in kg. What is the problem?

BTW I think slugs is an archic unit, the offical unit is now lbm, pounds mass.

5. Apr 20, 2007 #4
    well if a pound=slug*gravity then why do Euorpeans ignore gravity, and even offer such conversions such as 1 kilogram = 2.2046 pounds, they are different things being measured, weight vs mass

Last edited: Apr 20, 2007
  6. Apr 20, 2007 #5

rbj

okay, i guess that means non-relativistic speeds.

not quite. Nt = kg * (1 m/s2)

gravity on Earth is about 9.8 m/s2

again, not quite. lbs = slug*(1 ft/s2)

gravity on Earth is about 32.174 ft/s2