1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Kinematic Question

1. Jan 2, 2006 #1
    I am currently studying Kinematic Chapter and I am facing problem in the following question:
    The initial velocity of a particle is 15ms-1 along the Ox direction(Ox is a straight line). After 5.0 s its velocity is 15 ms-1 at an angle of 60 degree to the Ox direction. Find the magnitude and direction of the average acceleration of particles.

The answer given is 3.0 ms-2 at 120 degree to ox direction, but I don't know the steps. Please help me.

Last edited: Jan 3, 2006
  2. jcsd
  3. Jan 2, 2006 #2

Astronuc

Staff: Mentor

You have given an initial velocity and a direction, but you have not provided any information as to the forces, time or distance.

What is the coordinate system - Cartesian (x,y) where O would be origin, x is horizontal and y is vertical?

Is the projection in a gravitational field, e.g. earth's gravity field?

Is one considering or neglecting air resistance?

4. Jan 3, 2006 #3
    Sorry, typing mistake. I have forgotten to include a sentence. The actual question is:
    The initial velocity of a particle is 15ms-1 along the Ox direction(Ox is a straight line). After 5.0 s its velocity is 15 ms-1 at an angle of 60 degree to the Ox direction. Find the magnitude and direction of the average acceleration of particles.

Original post has been edited.

5. Jan 3, 2006 #4

Doc Al

The definition of average acceleration is:
    [tex]\vec{a}_{ave} \equiv \Delta \vec{v} / \Delta t[/tex]

6. Jan 3, 2006 #5