1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Kinematics Physics Help

1. Sep 27, 2005 #1
    Hi, I'm new to this physics forum. I need guidance/direction on how to tackle the following problems: (any help would be appreciated at this time)

1) A race car starts from rest on a circular track. The car increases its speed at a constant rate at as it goes once around the track. Find the angle that the total acceleration of the car makes-with the radius connecting the center of the track and the car-at the moment the car completes the circle.

2) A Coast Guard cutter detects an unidentified ship at a distance of 20.0 km in the direction 15.0° east of north. The ship is traveling at 26.0 km/h on a course at 40.0° east of north. The Coast Guard wishes to send a speedboat to intercept the vessel and investigate it. If the speedboat travels 50.0 km/h, in what direction should it head? Express the direction as a compass bearing with respect to due north.

Where do I start??!?!

Thanks =)

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 27, 2005 #2

SGT

1) The acceleration has two components: a constant tangential acceleration [tex]\vec a_T[/tex], responsible for the increase in tangential velocity and a radial acceleration [tex]\vec a_R[/tex] responsible for the circular movement. The total acceleration is the resultant of [tex]\vec a_T[/tex] and [tex]\vec a_R[/tex].

2) You have a triangle OAB. O(0,0) is the position of the cutter and of the speedboat. A(ax,ay) = (10sin15,10cos15) is the position of the ship. B(bx,by) is the intersection of the two trajectories.
    [tex]bx = ax + 26\cdot sin40 \cdot T= 0 + 50 \cdot sinC \cdot T[/tex]
    [tex]by = ay + 26\cdot cos40 \cdot T= 0 + 50 \cdot cosC \cdot T[/tex]
    Where C is the speedboat course and T is the time for interception.

4. Sep 27, 2005 #3