Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Kinetic Time Energy

1. Oct 26, 2005 #1
    Alright, I'm new at this, so I'll try to explain my question as best I can, and I hope it's not a stupid one. When you move through space 3-dimensionally you gain Kinetic energy, right? So wouldn't something moving through time, since it's just another dimension according to Einstein, gain kinetic energy for that too? And, if so, isn't it possible that on object's potential energy is just kinetic energy for moving through time? Especially since as time slows down for an object its potential energy becomes less. Which means that it's kinetic energy for poving through time is lessening. Do I make sense? Yeah, I was just wondering about that.

-nemosum

2. jcsd
  3. Oct 26, 2005 #2
    very interesting question about traveling through time affecting KE. I'll have to think about it.

4. Oct 27, 2005 #3

JesseM

Science Advisor

The problem is, what do you mean by "moving through time"? Kinetic energy is based on velocity, and velocity is (change in position)/(change in time), so it seems like kinetic energy already takes time into account as well as space. In relativity, the technical definition of kinetic energy is [tex](\gamma - 1)mc^2[/tex], where m is the object's rest mass and [tex]\gamma[/tex] is the following function of velocity: [tex]1/\sqrt{1 - v^2/c^2}[/tex]

Also, what do you mean when you say "as time slows down for an object its potential energy becomes less"? Where'd you hear that from?

5. Oct 27, 2005 #4

jtbell

Staff: Mentor

Not when you're moving at constant speed.

6. Oct 27, 2005 #5

Pengwuino

Gold Member

Also add to this that time is not a spacial dimension so I would assume kinetic energy doesn't apply here. I mean exactly how would it come into play mathematically?

7. Oct 27, 2005 #6