Calculating Electricity Consumption: From KWhr to kW and Units

• Thread starter rahuld.exe
  • Start date
In summary, if an engine requires 3kW to run, it will consume 3 units of electricity in an hour. This means that for every 1kWhr of energy used, 1 unit is consumed. Additionally, if a kitchen appliance has a power rating of 2kW and is used for 1 hour, it will consume 2 units of electricity.
rahuld.exe
If an engine that requires 3kW to run exists... How many units of electricity will it consume in an hour... (1kWhr=1unit).

I cannot get my head around this. I am new to this topic and with no one around to help me. This might be very basic to you all but i am just a kid. Sorry about that

My solution:
It requires 3kJ for 1 sec... Therefore 3*3600kJ for 1 hour... Hence.. 3kWhrs i.e. 3 units... Is it correct?!

Physics news on Phys.org
The power you have written on your kitchen appliances or hoovers and what not..say 2kW for your coffee machine.
If you had it running at the power of 2kW for one hour, it means you will have spent 2kWhrs of energy. So yes, you got your answer correctly :)

1. What is the difference between kWhr and kW?

KWhr (kilowatt-hour) is a unit of energy that represents the amount of energy used over a period of time. kW (kilowatt) is a unit of power that represents the rate at which energy is used. In simpler terms, kWhr is a measure of the total amount of energy consumed, while kW is a measure of how quickly that energy is being used.

2. How do I convert kWhr to kW?

To convert from kWhr to kW, you can use this formula: kW = kWhr / hours. This means that to calculate the power (kW), you need to divide the energy (kWhr) by the time (in hours) over which it was used. For example, if you used 100 kWhr in 10 hours, the calculation would be 100 kWhr / 10 hours = 10 kW.

3. What is the significance of calculating electricity consumption in terms of kWhr and kW?