Labyrinth Seal Leakage Calculation ?

In summary, the labyrinth seal leakage equation deals with mechanical engineering and involves an expansion ratio formula. The '1n' in the equation likely refers to the natural log function.
FFX
I'm studying mechanical engineering, just have a question on the labyrinth seal leakage equation.

More specifically, the expansion ratio formula.

7qsh.png

What does the '1n' stand for?
With 'n + 1n', I'm assuming those two n's are different since one looks like it's in italics and the other looks normal. Can someone please clear this up for me? I understand the rest of the equation, I just can't find what '1n' stands for in my textbook.

Physics news on Phys.org
FFX said:
I'm studying mechanical engineering, just have a question on the labyrinth seal leakage equation.

More specifically, the expansion ratio formula.

7qsh.png

What does the '1n' stand for?
With 'n + 1n', I'm assuming those two n's are different since one looks like it's in italics and the other looks normal. Can someone please clear this up for me? I understand the rest of the equation, I just can't find what '1n' stands for in my textbook.

Perhaps it's meant to be the natural log function ln(x)? That's the log base e of its argument.

1. What is a labyrinth seal and why is it important?

A labyrinth seal is a type of mechanical seal used to prevent leakage or the escape of fluids in a system. It consists of a series of interlocking ridges and grooves that create a tortuous path for the fluid to flow through, reducing the chances of leakage. They are important in applications where a high level of sealing efficiency is required, such as in gas turbines, pumps, and compressors.

2. How is the leakage rate of a labyrinth seal calculated?