1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Lack of motivation

1. Oct 20, 2013 #1
    Hello, this is my first topic here.
    I'm studying mathematics, this is my 2nd year and I have a problem about studying. In my life, I studied exams just before some days and I know that I should start to study regularly.
    These days, im spending my time with comp. games or surfing on the Internet.
    I have 3.3/4 and I will keep it around 3.3
    So, what do you suggest, how should I start, should I find a goal ?
    (p.s I wake up at 6.30 am and usually sleep at 1.00 am, also generally feel dizzy at school :smile:)

thank you

2. jcsd
  3. Oct 20, 2013 #2
    Do you enjoy what you are studying? Do you wake up wanting to go to class, or do you dread it? That could be a factor in why you don't want to study it. It might help if you study in groups too, usually studying alone is much less exciting and fulfilling

4. Oct 20, 2013 #3
    I was enjoying studying Number Theory. I came to half of the book and after that chapter, I did not understand theorems, proofs. They were like strangers to me, so, I looked for another proofs but nothing changed. So I stopped studying that. It was just a hobby. I do not like studying Linear Algebra, but I like Analysis and mostly Algebra.
    My friends in the class just consider the grade, only work for exams. Moreover, studying with them is generally no-efficient, so I have to study alone..

5. Oct 23, 2013 #4

chiro

Science Advisor

I'd recommend talking to someone about it in person (not over the internet). Find someone (or some people) and be honest with them and try and talk to people who are biased and unbiased towards mathematics.

6. Oct 23, 2013 #5